Skip to content

Quite Possibly The Most Unique Formula One Book Ever

by on May 13, 2013

ernie-cover1Details:

Let’s get the details out of the way first.  The cost of the e-book is only £1.99 and available on Lulu.com (HERE).  It is NOW available in the  iTunes iBookstore.  It’s in ePub format which makes it compatible on virtually any mobile device including your smart phone.

The story behind the book:

I started to write F1 poetry a while ago,  roughly one year ago, I began posting  the poems on my blog.  Thus far they have been very well received.  This unique form of poetry, albeit simple and fun, has gained world-wide audiences much to my surprise.  My poems are often read on a South African online (Visual) radio station called Ballz Radio (ballz.co.za).  Gearz show hosts Sasha Martinengo and Diana Fensham have embraced and supported my poems.

It all really started with a well-known chap named Peter Windsor.  It was he who originally read my F1 poems on his online program, The Flying Lap.  He suggested I should compile my poems and publish a book.  I hadn’t really considered that, but after some thought, I decided to give it a go. Peter needs no introduction in Motorsport circles.  He’s been in Formula One for over 40 years in many capacities.  He has given my poems a voice and shared them with his audiences across the globe.  He now has a new show called The Racer’s Edge, which mimics the name of  his column in F1 Racing Magazine.

The eBook is a collection of poems written to summarize the 2012 Formula One season. However, that is only part of it.  It includes F1 related poems composed for friends, partners and just for fun.There are tribute poems to Ayrton Senna, Gilles Villeneuve and Mario Andretti, Bernd Maylander, Alan van der Merwe, Dr. Gary Hartstein, Charlie Whiting, Jordan Irvine and of course our favorite #TechF1 guru Craig Scarborough.  There are fun F1 poems to which celebrate the Goodwood Festival of Speed, Valentine’s Day and Christmas.  I’ve even included promotional poems  written for and used by Pepe Jeans, McLaren and GPTours.

I must mention that my F1 poems found their way into the hands of a few people such as Will Buxton, Mario Andretti and Bernd Maylander.  My good friend and Twitter legend, Fake Charlie Whiting hand delivered them on his visit to US Grand Prix in Austin Texas last season.

Please take a moment, click on the LINK if you’re curious and read the preview.

Thank You kindly,

Ernie Black (@TheF1Poet)

One Comment
  1. Congratulations Ernie! I have always loved your poems and this book will be just perfect :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,092 other followers

