Skip to content

Canadian GP Diary – Page Five

by on June 5, 2013

Wednesday morning 9:25am EST, after somepublic transit delays including have to disembark on train due to technical problems, I’m finally on my way. To be honest, I’m not a big fan of public transit. I usually prefer to take the car everywhere I go. I like the freedom, I love to drive, I even don’t mind getting assaulted by ridiculously absurd parking fees.

There are exceptions however and this trip is one of these exceptions. I was reintroduced to the train on my honeymoon two years back. I enjoyed gazing out of the window and seeing the european country side. There is a vast difference between Canada and most countries in Europe, but on the train, there seems to be some sort of familiarity. One tends to see small towns, remote habitats and a lot of untouched and barren land.

Southern Canada, in the late spring is quite green and lush. It’s pleasant. The train is just as pleasant, it’s quiet and relatively smooth. I don’t have to worry about traffic or stopping for petrol. I don’t care if it’s raining or foggy. Just sit and enjoy the ride.

The biggest advantage for me is really the ability to sit and write. It affords me the time to reflect and make notes for future pieces and poems. I’m traveling alone, and this train is virtually empty. The smell of freshly brewed coffee is permiating the cabin. Even if one doesn’t drink coffee, there is a certain sense of comfort the aroma gives off.

This is Canadian GP 22 for me as some of my readers may know. Never before have I traveled to Montreal for an F1 race by train. I’m already on the back foot. I am to arrive at my destination by 3:30ish if all goes well. I need to rush across town to drop of my luggage and gear, then rush down to the FIA accreditation office to pick up my accreditation pass, then off to the FOTA Forum, by 5:00pm. I highly doubt I’m going to make it. Somewhere in there I’ll have to hook up with my editor at F1Plus.com.

If you’re interested in a play by play from the paddock, please feel free to follow me on Twitter @TheF1Poet. I’ll try to post photos and tweet about what’s happening from the media centre.

20130605-100514.jpg

20130605-100528.jpg

20130605-100537.jpg

From → Features, Formula One

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,307 other followers

