Skip to content

Murray Walker – Happy 90th Birthday to F1′s living legend

by on October 10, 2013

To all F1 fans who adore Murray Walker as I do.  Join me please in wishing him a very happy 90th birthday.  I had written this poem for Mr. Walker a while ago and I’ve decided to bring it back as a tribute to him on this milestone event.

Murray

Birmingham’s son, Graeme Murray Walker

Is a legend of sorts and a real slick talker

                       

I’ve listened to Murray, most of my life

I’ve spent more time with him, than I have with my wife

 

From lands afar to our home Grand Prix

For the BBC and ITV

 

On race day Sundays, he would appease

He held our attention with class and ease

 

With a friendly voice and a friendly smile

With brilliant diction in his own style

 

Finding a way, to make us chuckle

A simple comment causing knees to buckle

 

His “Walkerisms” are world renowned

His effect on our sport has been profound

 

 While he celebrates, we’ll reminisce

‘…and I interrupt myself to bring you this….’

 

Which Murray quote, best caught your ear?

“Well he’s world champion, and we only get one of those a year.”?

 

He’s a quick and clever, son of a gun

“This will be Williams’ first win since the last time a Williams won.”

 

Don’t challenge the man, he knows his stuff

“Do my eyes deceive me, or is Senna’s Lotus sounding rough?”

 

Sometimes causing lines, to be quite blurred

“Senna is 3rd with Mansell 2nd and Piquet 3rd!”

 

He had me confused when he did declare,

“You can’t see Alesi’s Ferrari because it isn’t there!”

 

Laughing hard with a tear in my eye,

“…and the rain came down and washed the circuit dry”

 

It’s no wonder this legend, causes a buzz

“Anything happens in Grand Prix racing and it usually does”

Happy Birthday dear Murray, 90 years young today

I extend to you, my sincerest best wishes on this special day

 

From → F1 POEMS, Formula One

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,095 other followers

