Skip to content

My 21st Canadian GP – An Audience With Joe Saward

by on June 13, 2012

Joe Saward
At The Pub St. Paul

Friday June 8th, I was finally going to meet one of Formula One’s foremost and well respected journalists.  It was an evening that I had been looking forward to ever since I purchased my ticket for “An Audience With Joe”.

I have been reading Joe Saward’s blog for some time now.   At the end of January this year, Joe wrote a brief post on his blog (Creative Writing) about an article that I had once written for a website. It can be found here: http://joesaward.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/creative-writing/ . This was a huge motivator for me.

After the monsoon that followed FP2, I took a quick shower and made my way on foot from the hotel to Old Montreal.  Walking down Rue St. Paul’s cobblestone roads, I was surrounded by old world charm and many many F1 fans in team colors.  So excited was I that I walked right past The Pub St. Paul where the event was being held. As I walked up old wooden steps to the third, I could almost hear all my thoughts rushing around in my head hoping they would stay there and blurt out randomly as Joe spoke. Having arrived a few minutes late, I quietly entered and found a spot not far from the front.

I sat and listened to Joe as if I were a student and he was my mentor.  In a round-about way, I suppose that’s the case.  It was an immense pleasure to have a chance to sit and listen to such a seasoned professional who I believe to be honest and open and extremely well spoken. Joe spoke of several topics, took all questions and answered them professionally.  It was an eye-opening experience and one which taught several lessons.
Saward was very good to his guests, taking the time to meet them and shake their hands, have mini discussions and answer further questions.  He hardly even stopped to have a bite to eat, in fact, aside from a few celery sticks and a couple of glasses of white wine, I don’t think he did actually stop to eat.

If you have the opportunity to attend an “Audience With Joe” event in your home GP, I highly recommend that you take advantage.  We all have our own thoughts and opinions which may or may not be in line with those of Joe’s, however, very few know the current inner workings and people of F1 better.

If I had to describe the evening in five words or less, I would say it was enlightening, entertaining and thought-provoking.

Author: Ernie Black
Twitter: @Goggs_on_F1
Blog: https://thef1poet.wordpress.com

From → Features, Formula One

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

