Skip to content

F1: A Quick Word About Sid Watkins- May He R.I.P.

by on September 14, 2012

I’ve seen and read a number of articles over the last day about the incomparable Prof. Sid Watkins.  Many written by casual bloggers like myself, too young and far removed from his life to really do his story any justice.  Still, the effort must be commended because it’s done with the best of intentions. His life cannot be defined or summarized in any book or on Wikipedia.  It is why I believe only those who knew him personally can really be the ones to write a tribute or online eulogy.  It is for this reason that I won’t write one.  Not because I don’t want to, but because I don’t personally feel I can do the job right.

Prof. Watkins has saved many lives over his lifetime but has touched far more lives with his actions and words.  He would be one of those people I would love to have sat down for a spot of tea with and interviewed.  I would have just liked to have had the opportunity to have sat and listened to some of his stories.

There is a reason he was loved. I suppose they are the same reasons so many are writing tributes to him.  While we all mourn his loss, and remember him, something should be done in his name so that his legacy lives on as will his memory.   I would hope the FIA and FOM among other organizations would get together and do something really worthwhile to celebrate his life.

Let us not wait for the greats to die before we embrace them as legends.  Let us not write about their greatness with tributes that end in R.I.P.  Let us celebrate them while they are alive and with us.

Dear Sid, I wish you were here to read this.  You are a legend of immeasurable proportions.  The world is a better place because of you and those who knew you are a privileged few who’s lives you’ve either saved or enhanced, or both.

Author: Ernie Black
Twitter: @Goggs_on_F1
Blog: https://thef1poet.wordpress.com

From → Formula One

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

