Skip to content

F1 BREAKING NEWS: Michael Schumacher Announces His F1 Reitrement

by on October 4, 2012

The worst kept secret of the last week has finally been confirmed.  Seven time Formula One World Champion is officially calling it quits again after the end of the current season.

On his official website Schumacher made the following statements:

“I have decided to retire from Formula One at the end of the season, although I am still able to compete with the best drivers of the world…”

“This is something that makes me proud, and this is part of why I never regretted my comeback.”

“I can be happy with my performance and the fact that I was continuously raising my game during the last three years…”

“But then, at some point it is time to say goodbye.

“I said at the end of 2009 that I wanted to be measured by my success, and this is why I had a lot of criticism in the past three years, which was partly justified. There is no doubt we did not achieve our goal of developing a car capable of fighting for the world championship in those three years. But then it is also clear that I can still be very happy about my overall achievements in Formula One.”

“Already during the past weeks and months I was not sure if I would still have the motivation and energy which is necessary to go on…”

“And it is not my style to do anything which I am not 100 percent convinced about. With today’s decision I feel released from those doubts. In the end, it is not my ambition to just drive around but to fight for victories; and the pleasure of driving is nourished by competitiveness.”

Love him or hate him, no one can deny his place in F1 history.  More on this story soon.

Author: Ernie Black
Twitter: @Goggs_on_F1
Blog: https://thef1poet.wordpress.com

From → Features, Formula One

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

